#27: Sit Somewhere Public and Alone For a Few Hours

So I took a trip to New York City at the new year, hence my post for going out of 2014 with a bang. I spent some time with my brothers while I was there, having a great time, but there was also moments that I needed for myself.  I spent a lot of time walking around the city, taking in the sights and smell of NYC and just seeing how different of a world it is out there versus where I am now.

I had a friend ask a favor of me while I was there; take some photos of a certain place because it was a moment in his life that meant a lot to him.  No details because it is not my place to say, but I spent a lot of time where he asked me to swing by.  I ordered a coffee and a chocolate croissant and sat quietly watching the world walk by.


IMG_20150104_131920~2~2


IMG_20150104_134745


Afterwards I went on a long walk across the Williamsburg Bridge to meet with my brothers to get some coffee and visit a friend.  It was quite the walk, one they thought I was crazy for when I could have easily taken the subway, but sometimes you just gotta walk, you know?  So I did.


IMG_20150104_141238

There is a lot of graffiti on the bridge and I found this one particularity striking for some reason.  I posted about it on social media, calling it a love letter.  I believe it.  And someone sure did, enough to leave a permanent marker of it on the bridge for all to see.

IMG_20150104_142153


Eventually I made it across the bridge and had to wait for my brothers to get there, so I spent some more time…sitting alone in a public place for a while.

Upon doing this several times I realized how less and less uncomfortable it got the more I did it.  At first I felt super awkward, just being my myself. I kept thinking I had to look busy, or like I might be waiting for another person…just something.  Something that signified that I wasn’t alone.  But then I got to thinking, what is so bad about being alone?  I should be OK with being alone, no matter where I am or what I’m doing.  There is no shame in spending some time with myself, my thoughts, and my surroundings.  I’m allowed to do that; everyone is.  It will not make me any less of a person if I am not surrounded by others all the time.  If anything, and this is me being super optimistic, it might attract people to me because I’m ok with being by myself.  I’m comfortable enough with just my own company….does that even make any sense?


IMG_20150104_152741


So I’m crossing this off my list. But I think I’m going to come back to it several times.  I want to do this enough times that I don’t feel uncomfortable at all anymore and can just go out and be alone without a second thought.  Comfort is key.

2 thoughts on “#27: Sit Somewhere Public and Alone For a Few Hours

  1. I love doing things alone in a public place. Sure, some people look at you strange. Some people give you a look of pity. But there’s something really amazing about the contrast of being in your head while simultaneously amongst a bunch of people. Definitely a skill to have in your arsenal because, really, you can never be alone if you are comfortable with yourself!

    Like

Leave a Reply

